Book Review: “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman

Hello everybody!

For my very first book review, I’ve decided to review one of my favourite YA books from the talented author, Gayle Forman. Hope this convinces you to pick up a copy! :)


If I Stay, by Gayle Forman.

“If I Stay” is a gripping and inspirational novel by the very talented author, Gayle Forman. Filled with drama, romance and thrills, this book tells a story about a young adult whose life revolves around one very important thing – music.

The book is set in Oregon in the 21st Century where Mia Hall, a 17 year old cellist lives with her rebellious, rock ‘n’ roll family. Her parents were once part of a rock band and her little brother Teddy seems to be following in their footsteps, learning how to play the drums and electric guitar!

Mia feels like she’s the odd one out. No one understands her love for classical music, and she decides that no one ever will.

Until she meets Adam Wilde…

Adam, a handsome young man with the same love of music as Mia, falls for her unexpectedly. The pair couldn’t be more different with Adam being a loud, popular rock-star and Mia being a shy cellist with big dreams of going to Juilliard. But it works – they fit together like a hand in a glove. Perfect in every way.

The story follows Mia as she deals with the aftermath of a catastrophic accident involving herself and her family.

As she sees flashbacks of all the amazing moments of her life, she realises it is her choice whether she chooses to stay and live a long, difficult life, or let everything go…

Gayle Forman’s use of flashbacks takes the novel to a whole new level of entertainment that will keep you reading for hours and hours! It is filled with many unbelievably concepts that will rattle your senses and leave you craving for more. This book promises to leave you on edge and in a puddle of tears as you approach the ending.

I absolutely loved the book and couldn’t put it down for even a second! I would recommend “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman for children and young adults over the age of 12 because of minor violence and detailed medical procedures. This book will be thoroughly enjoyed by those who love books with great depth and drama and who are not afraid to try a different kind of novel.


Thank you so much for reading and hope you have a great Wednesday!

Signing off,

Shreya xx

“Sometimes you make choices in life, and sometimes choices make you.”

– Gayle Forman, If I Stay

2 comments

  1. Laura · December 17, 2015

    I haven’t read this book. I will add it to my To Be Read list, especially since I love classical music :P

    How’s the romance, thou? I don’t like romance novels that much, but if the romance is a sub-plot and not the main thing, I can handle it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • pastelorchid · December 17, 2015

      This book does revolve around classical music most of the time, so you’ll enjoy that aspect of it. As for the romance, I wouldn’t call it a sub plot (it is kind of prominent in the story) but it is come across when the protagonist looks back on all her fond memories; including the ones about love. I would say it’s more about friendship, and how one person, no matter who he is, gives her a reason to live.
      Does that make any sense? Probably doesn’t! Sorry, I am terrible at answering questions like that but I honestly do think that you may enjoy ‘If I Stay’!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

