The 5th Wave: Review

Hello everybody! I know I have been extremely inactive on here recently and you might have thought I’ve fallen off the face of the earth! I’ve been caught up in lots of crazy things and I just haven’t found the time! Speaking of the earth though, this brings us to my topic for this post. Recently I saw the new sci fi film “The 5th Wave” which was extremely exciting! Here is a short review of the films storyline and overall effect on the audience! Enjoy!


 

“The 5th Wave” follows the story of sixteen-year-old Cassie Sullivan as she tries to survive in a world that is being destroyed due to an alien invasion by creatures known as The Others. As waves of natural disasters and disease start wiping out the human population, Cassie is one of the only ones to survive from her family other than her little brother, Sam. That’s when everything starts to go wrong.

When she is separated from her little brother after a series of crazy events, Cassie must risk everything and travel to the army base that is providing a so-called safe zone for her brother, the only family she has left. Along the way she meets Evan Walker, a man who helps Cassie when she is at her weakest even when she doesn’t want him to. As they travel great distances in search for Sam, Cassie begins to suspect that Evan isn’t the person who he claims to be which leaves her wondering if she can risk trusting anyone ever again.

This gripping story will have you engrossed till the very last second and leave you speechless as the end credits appear. Its incredible plot and fast moving pace really adds to the sci fi genre of the movie which is important when there are such a wide variety of sci fi films being produced today. “The 5th Wave” is a perfect mixture of action, adventure, drama and a hint of romance that leaves you speechless and yearning for more!

I recommend this film for anyone over the age of twelve because of the visuals of violence and mild gore in many of the scenes. I give “The 5th Wave” a rating of 5/5!


 

There you go! Hopefully this review convinced you to go check it out in cinemas now, and if it did, make sure to give this a like for me! Not long after watching the film did I realised that this was based on a trilogy by Rick Yancey which means I will now obviously read the books! I wasn’t expecting to really like the movie because the whole alien concept kind of put me off but what do you know! I ended up LOVING it! It was just the perfect mixture of genres for me and actors didn’t look too bad either:)

 

That’s a wrap from me today…

Signing off,

Shreya xx

“How do you rid the Earth of humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.”      -The 5th Wave

2 comments

  1. Birdree · February 13, 2016

    I really enjoyed the movie too and I might also read the books aha 😜
    Even though I have seen the movie, I liked your little review, it was interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

