Step into my nightmares…

Hello everybody, I hope you’re all having a spectacular week so far! Today I thought I would do something a little different…I’ve been writing down the dreams I have at night for a while now so I thought I would share one with you! Beware…it’s pretty wacky, pretty crazy and pretty unbelievable, that’s why it was just a dream! Here goes! I’ve titled this nightmare as “The Evacuation”.


The Evacuation

It was close to 1:23pm when we heard the deafening alarm, simultaneously blinding and deafening us and pulling us out of our daydreams in the middle of maths class. We all thought it was just an evacuation drill – a free escape route from class that we always anticipated. Every student in sight was scrambling out of the classroom, away from algebraic equations and irrational numbers, none of which seemed to interest what seemed like most people. It wasn’t long before the hallways were silent and you could hear a pin drop in each and every classroom, for the entire school population had gathered at the evacuation area – a place that seemed like a holiday destination while at school.

That’s the thing about people. They have these preconceived ideas about the majority of things that happen – including this unexpected evacuation. Not a single person had thought of this evacuation as a real one, we all just simply passed it off as a drill. That’s where we all went wrong. That is where we made our biggest mistake – a mistake that would never have prepared us for what was to come in the very near future.

It wasn’t long before the whizzing of sirens echoed around the school and the silhouettes of cars that meant business shadowed around the buildings, marking the grass with urgent tyre wheels that scraped against the lush green plants, temporarily damaging their beauty and leaving them worn out and lifeless. The same way the events that were to occur would leave us. Worn out, and possibly lifeless.

There we sat, at the very back of the school grounds where we would be ‘safe’, all huddled together in our own little groups hoping and praying that everything would turn out okay. Some were in a state of shock, some had tears streaming down their troubled faces and some ran around frantically pretending they were heroes from an action movie. My friends and I just sat there without saying a word, or moving a muscle. We mirrored each other’s expressions on our own faces, all of us looking grave, confused and defeated, almost as if we knew what was about to happen. But nobody even had a clue what was going to happen in the next 30 seconds. Those were the longest thirty seconds of my life, thirty seconds I will never forget.

It wasn’t long before we heard the deafening explosion that made us jolt out of our dazed selves and return to the bitter reality that was an orange blaze billowing out of our school buildings…and that was just the beginning. Now we were all running around frantically, not caring about anything but making it out of the school grounds alive. Ten seconds down, twenty to go.

The rest was a blur of silent screams and petrified faces and tears frantically running out of the school building. But the explosions didn’t stop. Soon, the whole school was lit with a cruel fire that destroyed every speck of beauty that existed. Flags were burnt down to ashes and the buildings looked like they were out of a dystopian novel. Fifteen seconds down, fifteen to go.

Looking around, the bodies of students that were defeated by the bomb were scattered around, the shock still present on their lifeless faces and their eyes bloodshot. I see friends, acquaintances, teachers, enemies and the nobodies that always strived to be somebodies in school. Before I break down in a mess that can’t be recollected, I run as fast as I can…away from the devastation of the school and out of the burnt down gates that once stood tall and strong.

With my heart racing and feet tripping every second stride I take, I continue running and running and running. I run until I can run no more, collapsing in a hopeless wreck in the middle of nowhere. I don’t cry. Instead, I laugh. I laugh a cold mocking laugh that would send chills through anyone’s spine, a laugh of defeat and survival at the same time. A laugh that would be enough to wake someone up from a terrible nightmare.


 

And…voila! There’s a glimpse of my peculiar thinking and crazy dreams! Because my character in this dream was experiencing these events, I wrote this in first person. Although, I’m not sure if I made the right decision…

Leave a crazy, peculiar or fabulous dream you have had in the comments below and please tell me that I’m not the only person who has these unexplainable nightmares! :)

Signing off,

Shreya xx

“I never paint dreams or nightmares. I paint my own reality.”  -Frida Kahlo

tumblr_nfd9qzXMty1tw8yaro1_250

10 comments

  1. Rosypop · February 16, 2016

    I loved reading this! You’re so good at writing stories! I do have the same weird dreams but I can’t write as well as you would. Xxxx 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • pastelorchid · February 16, 2016

      Aww thank you so much! I think it’s awesome to be able to have weird dreams like this…I’d love to read one of yours! Thanks for your endless support and for being so sweet<3

      Like

  2. LyfWithEm · February 16, 2016

    Oh wow, that’s a pretty scary dream! I would share some of mine with you, but I don’t dream that often and I can’t remember aha!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pastelorchid · February 16, 2016

      Haha! I’d love for you to do that…maybe write it down the minute you wake up:) It was pretty scary…I’m glad it was just a dream!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. robinblueblog · February 20, 2016

    Hi! just started reading your blog and you inspired me to make my own. I must say you do write some good stuff. Also this kinda reminds me of a thing that happened in my school the other week cu we did get a bomb threat but it was much less dramatic though hah

    Liked by 1 person

    • pastelorchid · February 20, 2016

      Hi there! That’s so sweet! I’m glad I could get you to give blogging a go:) Wow…that must have been pretty scary. Hope all is well:) I will definitely go and check out your blog<3

      Like

  4. storyteller45 · February 23, 2016

    That was really interesting I loved it! can you check out my blog? I’m new to blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    • pastelorchid · February 23, 2016

      I sure will:)

      Liked by 1 person

    • pastelorchid · February 24, 2016

      Hi! I tried clicking on your blog link but it says it’s no longer available. Would you have any idea why? Feel free to send me the link so I can still check it out:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • storyteller45 · February 24, 2016

        I don’t know why that happened but here, astorytellerjustlikeyou.wordpress.com

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

