A Walk To Remember – Book/Movie Review!

Hello everybody, Shreya here! How are you all? I hope you all had a lovely weekend and are ready for a productive week ahead:) OK. Before I begin this post, I just wanted to let you all know, that I am a major sucker for books that have been turned into movies – if they have been done well, obviously. I am also prone to having majorly uncontrollable obsessions with books, movies, storylines, people…the list goes on! I know some of you feel the same way about these things and I would love to hear about your frequent obsessions! So before I explode with emotion and craze, let’s move on to this post!

About a week ago, I discovered the movie ‘A Walk To Remember’,the story of two North Carolina teens who go through some pretty tragic stuff while they fall in love. I saw the movie first, then proceeded to read the book and I think it is safe to say that I have been officially bitten by the Nicholas Sparks bug, which has now caused me to be extremely over emotional over basically any book or movie I read or watch…anyway, back to the story! (Also, the soundtrack is oh so amazing so it gets extra credit from me:)

‘A Walk To Remember’ follows the story of Landon Carter, the typical bad boy with a troubled past who has no drive to do well in school, or life for that matter. Due to circumstances, he crosses paths with Jamie Sullivan, the shy daughter of the minister of the local church. As the story progresses, Landon and Jamie become close and eventually fall in love. The story then takes a major left turn when Jamie confesses a deep secret to Landon, and it’s basically downhill from there on. The two then learn the true meaning of life, love and what it means to stay by someones side until their last breath

This story truly pulls at the old heartstrings and will probably leave you stranded with a pile of tissues around you…you have been warned. But in all seriousness, this story truly changed my outlook on life and literature in general and I can definitely say that it is now one of my favourite novels I have read, and definitely one of my favourite movies!

Also, can we just take a minute to appreciate how cute Landon Carter is? All my friends would probably give me weird looks once they searched him up, but for a guy in 2002, I would say he was pretty good looking;) If his looks aren’t really doing it for you, I can assure you his character surely will. I cannot count the number of times I have thought why there aren’t really 18 year old guys who are as charming, sweet and romantic as Landon…but I guess there’s nothing new about that. Guys in novels really are too good to be true.

This is probably the cheesiest post I have written. Probably the most crazy and the most personal. But that’s who I am, I guess. Just any geeky teenager with my nose in a novel and my head in the clouds, dreaming of people from the novel. I guess I’m proud of it, you know? I never want to get to the point where I have to hide who I really am because I’m not ‘cool’ enough! Ok this got too deep too quickly…

Anyways, I highly recommend that you watch this movie if you haven’t already! It came out 14 years ago so I suppose some of you would have seen it, and if so, please let me know, for I feel as if I’m alone in this ‘A Walk To Remember’ world and I have absolutely no one to talk about this with!!

Hope you all have an amazing week!

Signing off,

Shreya xx

“Love is like the wind. You can’t see it, but you can feel it.”

Nicholas Sparks, A Walk To Remember

you_have_to_promise_awtr

 

4 comments

  1. majesticgoldenrose · July 18, 2016

    I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thewhimsicalpineapple · December 20

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this post. I always cry through the book AND movie. Glad I found your blog – it is so creative and super super cute!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • pastelorchid · December 22

      Aww! Thank you so much, I’m so glad you enjoyed the post<3 Just had a little stalk of your blog and can I just say, I am absolutely in love with the name! Isn't it JUST the cutest movie?! Thanks for being so sweet!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

